May 2019 Volume LIV Number 3


PAC Corner

March 2013 Volume XLVIX Number 2

Candidates Supported by the AAPD PAC for the 2012 General Election Fared Well
The AAPD PAC did well in support of successful Republican and Democratic candidates in the 2012 general election. I am pleased to report that our overall success rate was over 90 percent. The Senate success rate was 75 percent and the House success rate was 93 percent.


A number of AAPD members delivered checks and in some cases organized fund-raising events. The AAPD PAC continues to grow more sophisticated and will continue to engage AAPD members in this important activity. At our meeting in Washington, D.C., in March 2013, the PAC Steering Committee will also consider some early contributions to key members of Congress for the 2014 cycle, especially those in new chair or leadership positions.


Candidate/Party/State           Election Result

Ben Cardin (D-Md.)               Won 55-27 percent

(an independent received 17 percent)

Josh Mandel (R-Ohio)          Lost to incumbent Sherrod Brown (D) 50-45 percent

Robert Menendez (D-N.J.)      Won 58-40 percent

Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.)      Lost to incumbent Jon Tester (D)

49-45 percent Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.)    Won 59-38 percent Roger Wicker (RMiss.)           Won 57-40 percent

Dean Heller (R-Nev.)              Won 46-45 percent Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) Won 55-43 percent






Election Result


Paul Gosar1


R-Arizona (4th)


Won 67-28 percent

Michael C. Burgess2

R-Texas (26th)

Won 68-29 percent

GK Butterfield

D-North Carolina (1st)

Won 75-25 percent

Rosa DeLauro

D-Connecticut (3rd)

Won 75-25 percent

Sam Farr

D-California (20th)

Won 73-27 percent

Walter Jones

RNorth Carolina (3rd)

Won 63-37 percent

Rick Larsen

D-Washington State (2nd)

Won 61-39 percent

Nita Lowey

D-New York (17th)

Won 64-35 percent

Alan Nunnelee

R-Mississippi (1st)

Won 60-37 percent

Tom Price3

RGeorgia (6th)

Won 65-35 percent

Mike Simpson4

R-Idaho (2nd)

Won 65-35 percent

Ed Whitfield

R-Kentucky (1st)

Won 70-30 percent

Steny Hoyer

House Minority Whip

D-Maryland (5th)

Won 62-35 percent

Diana DeGette

D-Colorado (1st)

Won 68-27 percent

Gregg Harper

R-Mississippi (3rd)

Won without opposition

Eric Cantor

House Majority Leader

R-Virginia (7th)

Won 59-41 percent

Marsha Blackburn

R-Tennessee (7th)

Won 71-24 percent

Mo Brooks

R-Alabama (5th)

Won 65-35 percent

Lois Capps

D-California (24th)

Won 55-45 percent

Elijah Cummings

D-Maryland (7th)

Won 76-21 percent

Phil Gingrey

R-Georgia (11th)

Won 69-31 percent

Billy Long

R-Missouri (7th)

Won 64-31 percent

Betty McCollum

D-Minnesota (4th)

Won 62-32 percent

Dutch Ruppersberger

D-Maryland (2nd)

Won 65-31 percent

John Shimkus

R-Illinois (15th)

Won 69-31 percent

Henry Waxman

D-California  (33rd)

Won with no opposition

Mike Honda

D-California (17th)

Won 73-27 percent

Frank Pallone

D-New Jersey (6th)

Won 63-45 percent



Election Result

Joe Pitts

RPennsylvania (16th)

Won 55-39 percent

Yvette Clark

D-New York (9th)

Won 87-12 percent

Bill Cassidy5

R-Louisiana (6th)

Won with no opposition

Danny Davis

D-Illinois (7th)

Won 85-11 percent

Rodney Alexander

R-Louisiana ( 5th)

Won with no opposition

Fred Upton

R-Michigan (6th)

Won 54-43 percent

Eliot Engel

D-New York (16th)

Won 77-21 percent

John Runyan

R-New Jersey (3rd)

Won 54-45 percent

Charlie Boustany, Jr.6

R-Louisiana (7th)

Won in run-off in early Dec. 2012 by 60-39 percent

Hayden Rogers

D-North Carolina (11th) open seat formerly held by Heath Shuler

Lost 57-43 percent

Gus Bilirakis

R-Florida (12th)

Won 63-33 percent

Howard Coble

R-North Carolina (6th)

Won 61-39 percent

Joe Courtney

D-Connecticut (2nd)

Won 68-29 percent

Mike Fitzpatrick

R-Pennsylvania  (8th)

Won 57-43 percent

Kay Granger

R-Texas (12th)

Won 71-27 percent

Barbara Lee

D-California (13th)

Won with no opposition

Dana Rohrabacher

R-California  (48th)

Won 61-39 percent

Lucille Roybal-Allard

D-California (40th)

Won 60-40 percent

Lorretta Sanchez

D-California (46th)

Won 62-38 percent

Allyson Y. Schwartz

D-Pennsylvania  (13th)

Won 69-31 percent

Pete Stark

DCalifornia (15th)

Lost 52-48 percent

Peter Welch

D-Vermont (at large)

Won 72-23 percent

Kevin McCarthy

R-California  (23rd)

Won with no opposition

Jackie Speier

D-California (14th)

Won 74-26 percent

Robert Dold

R-Illinois (10th)

Lost 50-50 percent (by about 2500 votes)

Adam Kinzinger

R-Illinois (16th)

Won 62-38 percent

Julia Brownley

D-California (26th)open seat

Won 52-48 percent

J. Scott Keadle8

R-North Carolina (running in 8th district)

Lost in primary (note that Democratic incumbent Larry Kissell

lost in the general election)

John Larson

D-Connecticut (1st)

Won 69-28 percent

Jackie Walorski

RIndiana (2nd)open seat

Won 49-48 percent

Steve Daines

R-Montana (at large)open seat

Won 53-43 percent

Rodney Davis

R-Illinois (13th)open seat

Won 47-46 percent

Chris Van Hollen

D-Maryland (8th)

Won 62-33 percent


For further information about the AAPD PAC, please contact PAC Secretary C. Scott Litch at (312) 337-2169, ext. 29, or


Lewis A. Kay

PAC Steering Committee Chair

1       Dentist

2   Practicing obstetrician from 1981-2003

3   Orthopedic surgeon.

4   Dentist

5       Physician, founded Greater Baton Rouge Community Clinic 6  Cardio-thoracic surgeon

8 General dentist