May 2019 Volume LIV Number 3


Harris Fellowship Recipients Announced

May 2015 Volume LI Number 3

 Drs. Benjamin Curtis and Scott Schwartz were named as the recipients of the 2015-2016 Samuel D. Harris Research and Policy Fellowship sponsored by Preventech and the AAPD at the General Assembly on May 24, 2015.

Curtis graduated from the Texas A & M University Baylor College of Dentistry in 2014 and is attending the pediatric dentistry residency program at Baylor in Dallas, Texas. His research project to be conducted through the Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center (POHRPC) will analyze the efforts of the AAPD Public Policy Advocates regarding their levels of training in advocacy skills, knowledge of particular health reform issues, and empowering change at national, state and local levels.

Schwartz is a 2012 graduate of the University of Illinois-Chicago College of Dentistry. He is enrolled in the pediatric dentistry residency program at the University of North CarolinaChapel Hill. Schwartz is also working toward a Master of Public Health in Health Policy and Management from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health. His Fellowship project plans to analyze data from the Affordable Care Act regarding its implications for policy decisions and workforce issues in pediatric dentistry.  

Click here for a PDF version of this article.