May 2019 Volume LIV Number 3


Evidence-Based Dentistry Committee Update

July 2018 Volume LIII Number 4

Evidence-Based Dentistry Committee Update
     Dr. John Timothy Wright was unanimously elected the chair of the Evidence-Based Dentistry (EBD) Committee. The board of trustees ap- pointed Dr. James Coll as a consultant to the Committee, and Dr. Anupama R. Tate stepped down as chair due toher board responsibilities. The committee members are currently working on a mission statement, vision and goals.
     The non-vital primary tooth pulp therapy systematic review workgroup, comprised of Drs. James Coll (chair), Kaaren Vargas, Shahad Al Shamali, Chia-Yu Chen, and Abdullah Marghalani, met in Hawaii for a full-day work session at the 2018 Annual Session. They developed the protocol for registration and data extraction sheets for both in vivo and in vitro. Data extraction and draft meta-analysis is expected to be com- pleted by Nov. 30, 2018.
     The EBD Committee has formed a new workgroup on behavior guidance for the pediatric dental patient. Members are Drs. Vineet Dhar, Elizabeth Gosnell, Cameron Randall and Rebecca Slayton. The committee nominated Dr. Dhar as the chair of the work group. The group will assess the quality of the existing systematic reviews.

Click here for a PDF version of this article.