May 2019 Volume LIV Number 3


PAC Corner

September 2018 Volume LIII Number 5

Thanks for Your Support!

Thanks to all who have supported the AAPD PAC via the voluntary PAC contribution "check-off" on your current 2018-19 dues statement. Your support is critical to our long-term success. If you have not made a donation yet please consider doing so. This is of course an election year and the make-up of the next (116th) Congress will be critical to our advocacy efforts.
Candidates supported by the AAPD PAC during the 2018 Congressional election cycle are listed below. It is important for AAPD mem- bers to understand that our PAC is non-partisan, and supports members of both parties based on their support of chil- dren’s oral health and the AAPD’s legislative priorities. There is usually a slight tilt towards the party currently in power in the Senate and House, since that party controls committee chair positions.

Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.)
Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) – current House
member running for open seat
Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
Ben Cardin (D-Md.)   
Bob Casey (D-Pa.)
Diane Feinstein (D-Calif.)
Deb Fisher (R-Neb.)
Dean Heller (R-Nev.)
Joe Manchin III (D- W.Va.)   
Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)
Jon Tester (D-Mont.)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)
Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)


Highest Tier

Brian Babin (R-Texas 36th) dentist
Julia Brownley (D-Calif. 26th)
Michael Burgess (R-Texas 26th)
Diana DeGette (D. Col. 1st)
Yvette Clarke (D-N.Y. 9th)
Tom Cole R-Okla. (4th)
Elijah Cummings (D-Md.7th)
Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn. 3rd)
Paul Gosar (R. Ariz. 4th) dentist
Drew Ferguson (R-Ga. 3rd) dentist
Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn. 3rd)
Andy Harris (R-Md. 1st)
Steny Hoyer (D- Md. 5th)
Kay Granger (R-Texas 12th)
Walter Jones (R-N.C. 3rd)
Rick Larsen (D-Wash. 2nd)
Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.17th )
Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif. 23rd)
Frank Pallone (D-N.J. 6th)
Martha Roby (R-Ala. 2nd)
Hal Rogers (R-Ky. 5th)
John Shimkus (R-Ill. 19th)
Mike Simpson (R-Idaho 2nd) dentist
Jeff Van Drew (D-N.J. 2nd) – state Senator running for open seat; dentist
Steve Womack (R-Ark. 3rd)
Medium Tier
Mark Amodei (R-Nev. 2nd)
Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla. 9th)
Mo Brooks (R-Ala. 5th)
Salud Carbajal (D-Calif. 24th)
Danny Davis (D-Ill. 7th)
Eliot Engel (D-N.Y. 17th)
Brett Guthrie (R-Ky. 2nd)
Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio 9th)
Trent Kelly (R-Miss. 1st)
Derek Kilmer (D-Wash. 6th)
Barbara Lee (D-Calif. 13th)
Betty McCollum (D-Minn. 4th)
David Price (D-N.C. 4th)
Dutch Ruppersberger (D-Md. 2nd)
Jan Schakowsky (D-ll. 9th)
Fred Upton (R- Mich. 6th)

Basic Tier

Joe Courtney (D-Conn. 2nd)
Rodney Davis (R-Ill. 13th)
Henry Cuellar (D-Texas 28th)
Mark Green (R-Tenn. 7th) – running for open seat
Katie Hill (D-Calif. 25th)
Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y. 8th)
David Joyce (R-Ohio 14th)
Joe Kennedy III (D-Mass. 4th)
John Larson (D-Conn. 1st)
Sean Maloney (D-N.Y. 18th)
Grace Meng (D-N.Y. 6th)
Steve Palazzo (R-Miss. 4th)
Erik Paulsen (R-Minn. 3rd )
Chellie Pingree (D-Maine 1st)
Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif. 48th)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif. 40th)
Jackie Speier (D-Calif. 14th)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-Calif. 15th )
Candidate Van Taylor (R-Texas 3rd) – state Senator
running for open seat
Jackie Walorski (R- Ind. 2nd)
Peter Welch (D-Vt. At large)

This past Spring and Summer we have been busy delivering AAPD PAC checks to these candidates, and I want to thank all the AAPD members who have assisted in this process.

Note that when PAC funds are replenished via the 2018-19 dues cycle, the AAPD PAC will also support those House members signing onto FY 2019 Title VII Pediatric Dentistry Dear Colleague letter. This letter was printed in the July PDT.

For further information about the AAPD PAC, please contact PAC Secretary C. Scott Litch at (312) 337-2169 ext. 29 or

Warren A. Brill
PAC Steering Committee Chair


Click here for a PDF version of this article.