May 2020 Volume LV Number 3


AAPD Chapter Leadership Summit and Public Policy Advocates Workshop

March 2019 Volume LIV Number 2

On Sept. 28-29, 2018, as part of the AAPD’s Ad Interim board meeting in Chicago, the Academy hosted the second Chapter Leadership Summit and Public Policy Advocates Workshop, building on the initial program held in the spring of 2017. Pediatric dentistry volunteer leaders from 42 states plus D.C., were in attendance along with 31 state Public Policy Advocates. Attendees heard presentations and discussion on a variety of topics including:
  •  Overview of AAPD and HSHC and relationship with chapters
  • AAPD dues collection for chapters
  • AAPD website and social media opportunities to share chapter news
  • Tips on handling media inquiries and crises
  • AAPD support of and coordination for chapter CE courses
  • Obtaining extended CERP approval through AAPD for chapter CE
  • Chapter incorporation and tax exemption issues
  • Navigating dental benefits and coding issues
  • Influencing and working with your state board of dentistry
  • Working with your state dental association and oral health coalitions
  • Current data for Medicaid dental advocacy
  • Understanding the impact of current Medicaid regulations on access monitoring and managed care contracting
  • SDF coverage by state Medicaid plans and related issues
  • How to work with your legislator to write a bill and see it through to passage 
State and district leaders were also able to network with the board of trustees of both AAPD and Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the AAPD.
The Executive Committees of the AAPD and the Western Society of Pediatric Dentistry pose for a photo:
Back (from left to right): Drs. Ernest Nehrer, Christine Roalofs, Jean Beauchamp, John Liu, Jessica Lee, Kevin Rencher, John Gibbons, John Rutkauskas, Stephanie Cook, Kevin Donly.
Front (from left to right): Drs. Jacob Lee, Jonathon Lee, Nancy Hsieh, Tina Ptacek, Jessica Robertson, Jessica Blanco, Natalie Mansour, Anu Tate, Joe Castellano, Gila Dorostkar, Julia Richman, James Nickman, Patricia Benton.
Future plans are to host these meetings on a biennial basis (every two years) in conjunction with the Ad Interim meeting in Chicago.

Click here for a PDF version of this article.