March 2021 Volume LVI Number 2

 
 
 
Screen_Shot_2021-03-03_at_10.30.00_AM

A Notice to AAPD Members

March 2021 Volume LVI Number 2

Constitution and Bylaws Amendment before the 2021 General Assembly
This amendment will be considered the AAPD Annual Session during the Reference Committee hearings and the General
Assembly.
 
Note to readers: All line numbers reference the current AAPD Constitution and Bylaws as printed in the 2021 Membership Directory.
Strikethrough words are to be removed; bold underlined words are to be added.
 
1. SPECIFY CHAIR OF NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE
The following proposed change to the Constitution and Bylaws was prepared by the Constitution and Bylaws Committee at the request of the Board of Trustees.
 
Background: The Constitution and Bylaws Committee brought to the attention of the Board of Trustees that the Chair of the Nominations Committee is not specified in the Bylaws. In practice, this has been the second immediate Past President. The Board of Trustees directed the Constitution and Bylaws Committee to draft a technical amendment to clarify the matter.
 
An amendment would be made to Chapter V (BOARD OF TRUSTEES), Section 18 (COMMITTEES OF THE BOAD OF TRUSTEES):
 
931 H. NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE:
932 Composition:
933 The Nominations Committee shall be composed of eight (8)
934 members: the two immediate Past Presidents of the Academy,
935 a board member of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry
936 as determined by the ABPD and one (1) member elected from
937 each trustee District. The second immediate Past President shall serve as chair. Further details on committee member
938 selection and committee procedures are provided in the
939 Administrative Policy and Procedure Manual of the AAPD.
 
Reference Committee Hearing and Reports & General Assembly Meeting
 
Constitution and Bylaws amendments and proposed changes/ additions to oral health policies and best practices of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry will be the subject matter for the Reference Committee hearings at the Hub AAPD 21 virtual Annual Session. Recommendations from the Council on Clinical Affairs concerning oral health policies and best prac- tices will be posted as a Members-only document on the AAPD website (www.aapd.org) no later than sixty (60) days prior to the General Assembly. All members will be alerted to this avail- ability via AAPD E-News.
 
The Reference Committee hearings will take place virtually on Wednesday, May 26, 2021, at 12:30 PM Eastern/11:30 AM Central/10:30 AM Mountain/9:30 AM Pacific time , and will be accessible at www.aapd.org.
 
Please note this date and time are subject to change; members will be notified via E-News in such case. The hearings are open to all AAPD members, as well as non-members who have registered for the Hub. Non-members will be polled and asked to identify themselves by the chair, who also has the authority to determine whether a non-member may comment. The Reference Com- mittees are intended to be the venue for member discussion on any formal resolutions that will be proposed before the General Assembly. This is an opportunity for members to present testimony on proposed oral health policies and best practices, and other business to come before the General Assembly. Reference Committee Reports will be available online in advance of the District Caucuses and General Assembly.
 
The General Assembly is a meeting of Active and Life members for the purposes of conducting the business of the AAPD. Any AAPD member is welcome to attend, although only Active and Life members may vote. Final action on recommendations from Reference Committees takes place at the General Assembly. Per the Hub AAPD 21 virtual Annual Session, the General Assembly will meet in an online virtual format. The General Assembly will take place on Sunday, May 30, 2021, at 1 p.m., East- ern/12 Noon Central/11 AM Mountain/10 AM Pacific time, and will be accessible at www.aapd.org. The Illinois Not-For- Profit Corporation Act, which governs AAPD’s activities, permits a meeting of members in this manner. This notice is being provided as required no less than thirty (30) days before the session. An agenda for the General Assembly meeting will be posted under "Latest News" in the Members-Only section of the AAPD Web site (www.aapd.org) approximately one month prior to the meeting. All members will be alerted to this availability via AAPD E-News.
 
Stay tuned to E-News for special announcements! We also encourage you to login to your AAPD membership profile to ensure that your e-mail address and preferences are accurate.

Click here for a PDF version of this article.